Posted by: Mother Ruckus | September 12, 2009

Cornhole

IMG_7356

Love the Midwest!  On a recent drive in rural Wisconsin, I saw this sign alongside the road.  It caught my eye and made me think of cornholes. 

I couldn’t listen to the radio because I had just put Li’l Man to sleep by swinging his twenty-pound car seat for seventeen consecutive minutes outside the vehicle. 

 

With the latest advances in technology, you would think they could invent a car seat that weighed less than a stuffed pig!  I know he should be able to fall asleep on his own; we’re working on it!  But when I’m alone in the car with a crying baby, I’ll do almost anything to get him to sleep, even stopping on a side road and breaking my back with the thirty-pound car seat.  (It gets heavier as I swing it, so it might as well get heavier as I write about it). 

A man in a blue pick-up truck pulled up and asked if everything was okay.  I don’t think everything has been okay since my uterus grew forty times its normal size, but I’ll probably manage the car seat and baby. 

Where was I?  Oh, yes, cornholes.  For those of you not familiar with the art of the Cornhole game, check it out on Wikipedia.  It’s a highly sophisticated sport that uses progressive terminology such as, “hooker, double deuce, gusher, dirty bag, cow pie, back door, and cornfusion.”  Only in corn country could you find hand crafted Cornhole boards made to order.

What’s your favorite part of the Midwest?

Leave a Reply

Categories

